All Opinion articles

View all stories of the same content type.

  • restaurant tables
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: Happy face, or serious face?

    2021-03-08T08:45:00Z

    It’s one of those bittersweet moments for hospitality, and business leaders could be forgiven for feeling just a little nervous about how to react for fear of being misread.

  • GettyImages-1214245347
    Opinion

    From roadmaps to tightropes: UK hospitality’s rally to revival relies on relationships

    2021-03-03T08:28:00Z

    The light at the end of the tunnel is finally getting brighter for some in the hospitality sector. A roadmap is now in place, and while there may be some traffic delays, it is at least looking like the worst of the pandemic is in the rear-view mirror.

  • Nick Mackenzie, new Greene King CEO
    Opinion

    Nick Mackenzie: We are burning through £7m a week

    2021-03-02T08:05:00Z

    Lockdown is costing Greene King every pub on average of £4,500 every week, which equates to £7m a week for its managed pub estate, CEO Nick Mackenzie has said.

  • Mitchells & Butlers
    Opinion

    Dominic Walsh: Getting M&B across the line

    2021-02-25T08:41:00Z

    It seems pertinent to ask how it is that three of the biggest shareholders in Mitchells & Butlers could get their three-card trick past the Takeover Panel. 

  • pub beer
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: Garden party politics

    2021-02-24T08:41:00Z

    Pub and restaurant leaders might be unhappy, if not in downright despair, about Boris Johnson’s roadmap out of lockdown, but the signs are he is not in the mood to change gear or direction.

  • Peter-Martin-MCA-Insight-Commentator
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: It’s déjà vu all over again

    2021-02-18T08:31:00Z

    What hospitality most wants from Government now is to be allowed to open, to start trading and be able to play a part in the country’s economic recovery – and as soon as possible.

  • JDW 2012 New Opening Watchmaker Bar
    Opinion

    Peel Hunt: JDW may be hit by post pandemic trends

    2021-02-12T08:34:00Z

    JD Wetherspoon (JDW), and other low-ticket operators, are more likely to be hit post-Covid working patterns, as well as any further downturn in the economy, according to analysts Peel Hunt.

  • GettyImages-1218602591
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: Testing, testing

    2021-02-10T07:00:00Z

    Regular workplace Covid testing now looks certain to be a key feature in getting Britain back to work when lockdown eventually ends.

  • Exports port
    Opinion

    David Read: Is globalisation unravelling?

    2021-02-05T08:44:00Z

    A few days ago, I was in a hospitality sector zoom conference, when the keynote speaker said: “I genuinely believe we may be witnessing the beginning of the end of globalisation”.

  • dominicwalshthetimesmcainsightcommentator_981077
    Opinion

    Dominic Walsh: ‘A tale of two leaders’

    2021-02-04T08:10:00Z

    Having himself been struck down by coronavirus, Dominic Walsh compares and contrasts the approach to support being demonstrated by two very different hospitality leaders.

  • Young person online with laptop
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: ‘No way back from the digital world’

    2021-02-03T08:34:00Z

    You don’t need to be clairvoyant to spot the major trends that are going to reshape our business landscape. Most are already out there in clear sight.

  • Nick Weir - Shelley Sandzer
    Opinion

    Shelley Sandzer: The phoenixes are rising

    2021-01-28T08:43:00Z

    Our sector is full of creative people, innovators and entrepreneurs. We already knew that pre-pandemic, but the successive lockdowns have brought out the best in a sector hit the hardest of all in the UK. 

  • GettyImages Gatwick Airport
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: Saving private enterprise

    2021-01-25T08:47:00Z

    Did health secretary Matt Hancock really suggest in cabinet the idea of a moratorium on all international travel for a month to stop new Covid variants coming into the country?

  • GettyImages-477214183
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: Breathing life back into London

    2021-01-18T08:03:00Z

    London’s economy received a small vote of confidence this month with the news that ExCel, the giant exhibition complex in Docklands, not only wants to reopen for business but to grow in size with new space and facilities.

  • Alex Reilley
    Opinion

    Alex Reilley: Give job-creators of the future one last shot of support

    2021-01-18T08:03:00Z

    If the pandemic had hit 12 years ago when we were a business with nine sites I very much doubt we’d have survived. In the last 12 years we’ve opened a further 161 sites and in the process created over 4,500 jobs.

  • GettyImages-1219401083
    Opinion

    Peter Martin: The case for positive pragmatism

    2021-01-08T08:43:00Z

    Bill Gates is worth listening to. You don’t have to agree with the Microsoft and Gates Foundation co-founder, but he is often right – whether it’s about business or politics.

  • GettyImages-1281636009
    Opinion

    A new year should mean new support for hospitality

    2021-01-05T09:03:00Z

    The new year has brought with it the same old problems for a hospitality sector battling with the pandemic. More support is needed before time runs out.

  • GettyImages-1165040271
    Opinion

    Dominic Walsh: Is closure more costly then tier 2?

    2020-12-21T08:25:00Z

    The massive impact of Covid-19 on the pub industry was brought home to me a couple of weeks ago when I took my two lads to the Wetherspoon pub next to Oxted station. Once every few weeks on a Sunday morning - lockdowns permitting - I take them for a haircut and a breakfast at the Wetherspoon. There aren’t too many places you can feed two teenagers and their dad a big fry up (plus add-ons) and drinks for £17.

  • Burger King 20/20 Garden Grill
    Opinion

    Mark out of Ten - Burger Queen’s Gambit takes the Crown

    2020-12-11T07:37:00Z

    I have been struck dumb of late and I have no caps left to doff at the superbness of the global Burger King brand’s marketing and digital teams. Over the past few years, the hits just keep on coming.

  • Kate Nicholls 055
    Opinion

    Kate Nicholls: It is Time to Recover and Renew

    2020-12-08T08:00:00Z

    Imagine if we lived in ‘normal’ times, right now you might be looking forward to a trip to the theatre to see a star-studded pantomime or to the cinema to see the latest festive blockbuster. Perhaps you’d venture into a pub or restaurant or even book an overnight stay in town. Cultural experiences like these are closely associated with Christmas for millions of people.