Mitchells & Butlers has announced that Ron Robson, deputy chairman and nominated representative of the group’s largest shareholder, the Odyzean Group, will be retiring from the board at the end of July.

Imelda Walsh, chair of the remuneration committee and Colin Rutherford, chair of the audit committee, will also be retiring from the same date.

The office of deputy chairman will not be continued, but an announcement in relationship to the chairmanship of the remuneration committee is expected to be made within the next few months.

Following these changes, the board at M&B will be comprised of the non-executive chairman, Bob Ivell, two executive directors (Phil Urban, CEO and Tim Jones, CFO), three independent non-executive directors (Susan Murray, who will remain as senior independent director, Jane Moriarty, who will assume the role of chair of the audit committee, and Dave Coplin, who will continue in his role as non-executive director nominated for representation of the ‘workforce voice’) and three non-executive directors representing the interests of the Odyzean Group (Eddie Irwin, Josh Levy and Keith Browne).

Ivell commented: “Ron, Imelda and Colin have provided excellent service to M&B throughout their time on the board, helping to achieve a significant period of stability for the company whilst assisting our governance and oversight arrangements.

In February this year M&B confirmed that the Odyzean Group would review the composition of the board to streamline its decision making and reduce the number of non-executive directors.

“By making these changes now, the smaller, more agile board is in line with the company’s stated intentions at the time of the equity raise and it can now focus on supporting and challenging management over the coming months, as the business first recovers and then moves forward again,” added Ivell.