Don’t miss the chance to vote for your winners at MCA’s Retailers’ Retailer Awards 2022 – get your votes in before the 31 January deadline.

MCA’s has revealed the finalists in this year’s Retailers’ Retailer Awards, with 10 categories open for voting – now it’s up to you to make your voice heard.

2021 was another very tough year for operators, but there was also plenty of innovation, big deals struck, and gains made by businesses across the eating and drinking out sector.

We are excited to celebrate all these and more at MCA’s prestigious awards evening – to be held on 23 March 2022. It promises to be a fantastic night as the industry joins together at the Guildhall in London for the first time in two years, for a night of celebration, entertainment and networking.

We would be delighted if you could take part in the voting for the awards, which celebrate the very best concepts and individuals in the UK eating and drinking out sector.

These awards are decided by you, senior industry figures, so it’s important that we hear who you believe should be named our winners.

On the night we shall also be naming the winners of our new Sustainability Award and Hero Award, which will be decided by a panel of judges, as well as the recipient of our special Lifetime Achievement Award.

To vote, please click here. Please note you cannot vote for your own company, or companies under the same ownership.

The categories open for voting are:


Best Concept

The Ivy Collection

Pizza Pilgrims


Flight Club

Franco Manca


Best Company



Five Guys


Oakman Inns


Best Use of Tech

Leon – for its digital screens and drive-thru tech

McDonalds – leader of the pack with recent investments in AI

Big Mamma Group – for its operator-focused payment app Sunday

itsu – for its enhanced customisation and back of house efficiencies

YO! – digital ordering and payment, click and collect and automated belts


Deal of the Year – sponsored by AlixPartners

Punch acquired by Fortress Investment Group

Hawthorn acquired by Admiral Taverns

Tortilla’s IPO

Pho acquired by TriSpan

Gail’s acquired by Bain Capital

Leon acquired by EG Group


Investor of the Year

Boparan for its multi-brand offering The Restaurant Hub

Bridgepoint’s investment in itsu

Redcat Pub Company & Oaktree Capital’s fast-growing pub portfolio

Trispan for its investment in Pho

Nightcap for its investment in Adventure Bar Group


Best New Opening – sponsored by Chapman Ventilation

Sessions’ Shelter Hall, Brighton

Hawksmoor, Canary Wharf

Eataly, Liverpool Street

Haugen, Stratford

The Furnace, Sheffield

Manahatta, Birmingham


Emerging Concept


Marugame Udon

Rudy’s Pizzeria

Neat Burger

Street Burger Gordon Ramsay


The Evolution Award

itsu for its move into evenings and hot food

Azzurri’s Coco di Mama for its virtual kitchen rollout

Leon for its move into drive thru

Pret for its repositioning away from city centre heartland

YO!’s continued development into omnichannel and retail


International Newcomer


Marugame Udon






Retailer’s Retailer of the Year – sponsored by Uber Eats

Nick Collins, CEO, Loungers

Nick Mackenzie, CEO, Greene King

David Page, executive chairman, Fulham Shore

Karen Jones, chair of Hawksmoor, Prezzo and Mowgli

Jeremy King, CEO, Corbin and King