The Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers (ALMR) has revealed the finalists for its 2016 Operations Managers Awards.

finalists for Area Manager of the Year representing managed pubs are Oliver Sweetman and Neil Mckie, Stonegate Pub Company; John Creighton, Intertain; Jenna Edwards, Novus Leisure; Gareth Roberts, SA Brain & Co; and Shane O’Gorman, Mitchells & Butlers. The finalists for Business Development Manager of the Year representing leased or tenanted pubs are Alex Smith and Richard Grady, Star Pubs & Bars; Alix Horne, Barrie Aspinall and Richard Eden, Punch; Brandon Critchell and Helen Davis, Marston’s; Chris Tremain, Isabelle Whitehouse, Jay Weir, Matt Obrey and Shaun Beedles of Enterprise Inns; Nathan Derby, Charles Wells; and Nick Lawson and Paul Wishart, Greene King Pub Partners.

Nick Bish, founder of the awards, said: “We have always believed that operations managers are the linchpin of modern and thriving licensed hospitality, and the operations awards programme recognises, celebrates and develops the best individuals in the sector. The fact that the judges have decided on 21 finalists, rather than the usual 20, underscores the very high standard of competition and the exceptional work being carried out in our sector.”

The finalists will all be closely assessed in the field by a mentor judge before a rigorous three-day masterclass led by Chris Nichols and featuring inspiring sessions from leading businessmen including Stephen Gould, Simon French and Roger Whiteside.

After a final interview before a mentor judge and eight leading operators from the sector, the winners will be announced at a standalone event at the Hilton Kensington on Monday, 7 November.