Graham Evans has been appointed the new chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Beer Group.

Evans takes over following the resignation of Andrew Griffiths earlier this month. Griffiths had been in the role for five years but stepped down after being given a position within the Whips’ Office.

Brigid Simmonds, British Beer & Pub Association chief executive, said: “I’m delighted that Graham Evans is the new Chairman of the Beer Group. Graham has been a longstanding champion of beer and pubs, and has supported the industry on many campaigns. In recognition of this, he won a BBPA/CAMRA/CIBA ‘Beer Champion’ award in Parliament, last year. I know Graham will continue to keep up the pressure for policies that allow our industry to prosper, and we look forward to working with him.”