We are delighted to announce the finalists for MCA’s Retailer’s Retailer of the Year Awards 2021, with voting now underway.

The Best Company category sees Dishoom, Hawksmoor and Loungers, up against McDonald’s, Nando’s and Oakman Inns & Restaurants.

There are many worthy contenders for Deal of the Year, from Cain International’s acquisition of Prezzo, to Stonegate completing its takeover of Ei Group.

While the top award – Retailer’s Retailer of the Year – sees Emma Woods, chief executive, Wagamama, up alongside the likes of Nick Collins, chief executive, Loungers and chief executive of Greggs, Roger Whiteside.

Other categories include Best Concept, Investor of the Year, and Best Use of Technology.

We would be delighted if you could take part in the voting for the awards, which celebrate the very best concepts and individuals in the UK eating and drinking out sector.

To vote, please click here. Please note you cannot vote for your own company, or companies under the same ownership.

The full list of nominees are as follows:


Best Concept


Franco Manca


Honest Burger

Pizza Pilgrims


Best Company






Oakman Inns & Restaurants


Best Venue

Amazonico London

Circolo Popolare, Fitzrovia

Dishoom, Birmingham

Electric Shuffle, Canary Wharf

The Ivy Asia, St Pauls

The Royal Foresters, Ascot


Emerging Concept

Casa do Frango

Farmer J

Island Poké

Neat Burger

Yard Sale Pizza


The Best Use of Technology

McDonald’s - drive thu AI technology

Nando’s - for its click & collect, and order & pay technology

Pret A Manger - coffee subscription

Wetherspoons - consumer app


Deal of the Year

Cain International’s acquisition of Prezzo

Côte Restaurants acquisition by Partners Group

Stonegate completion of Ei Group takeover

Epiris acquisition of Casual Dining Group to create The Big Table

TowerBrook acquisition of Azzurri Group


Investor of the Year


Richard Caring

TDR Capital

The Restaurant Group



The Evolution Award


Côte Restaurants


Pizza Pilgrims

Pret A Manager


Retailers’ Retailer of the Year

Emma Woods, Chief Executive - Wagamama

Nick Collins, Chief Executive - Loungers

Peter Borg-Neal, Executive Chairman - Oakman Inns & Restaurants

Richard Caring, Chairman - The Ivy Collection & Caprice Holdings

Roger Whiteside, Chief Executive - Greggs

RROTY Footer